Global Culture Work: Between Transnational Mobility and Local Commitments

Date

03/02/22

Global Culture Work: Between Transnational Mobility and Local Commitments

This panel brings together dance and theater artists and arts managers based in Africa, Europe, and the Americas to discuss key conditions of their work in this “global” profession. What have been the roles of transborder mobility and financial patronage in their careers? How have they undertaken projects committed to particular “local” contexts, and what futures do they see for socially engaged work in performance? 

Saturday, March 5th on Zoom at:

  • 1-2:30 PM CST (Urbana-Champaign, IL, USA)
  • 11 AM -12:30 PM PST (Oakland, CA, USA)
  • 8-9:30 PM CET (Bordeaux, France)
  • 7-8:30 PM GMT (Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso)

Panelists :

Roxane D’Orléans Juste, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Auguste Ouédraogo, Wa Tid Sao, Bordeaux, France & Art’Dév, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Bienvenue Bazié, Art’Dév & MbOmen, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Debby Kajiyama, Naka Dance Theater, Oakland, California, USA

José Ome Navarrete Mazatl, Naka Dance Theater, Oakland, California, USA

Salamata Kobré, Compagnie Salamata Kobré, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

François Bouda, Sankhof’Arts, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

The panel will be conducted in French and English (with written translation).

FRENCH

Cette conférence rassemble des artistes de la scène et des manageurs culturels basés en Afrique, en Europe, et aux Amériques pour discuter des conditions clés de leur travail dans cette profession dite « globale. » Quels rôles ont joué la mobilité transfrontalière et le soutien financière dans leurs carrières? Comment ont-ils établi des projets orientés à des contextes locales, et quels futurs envisagent-ils pour le travail engagé dans les arts du spectacle?

 

Zoom Recording (Temporary video: translation will be added shortly):